Design Awards 2017

AIA Santa Barbara is pleased to announce the 2017 Design Awards program, celebrating the very best work of our membership and region. A select jury of architects, including Marlon Blackwell, FAIA, John Burgee, FAIA, and Thomas Fowler, AIA, will bestow awards of Honor, Merit and Honorable Mention to the most exceptional projects in this year’s diverse project categories. Further information is given below and in the accompanying 2017 Design Awards Documents. We look forward to your participation!

To recognize and honor excellence in architecture within our local built environment and by Santa Barbara architects beyond our region.

Licensed architects or firms in good standing of AIA Santa Barbara may submit projects within Santa Barbara county or anywhere in the world. Licensed architects or firms in good standing of other AIA chapters, or as licensed architects and firms that are not AIA members may submit projects only within Santa Barbara County. Projects previously awarded by the Santa Barbara AIA design awards program are ineligible.

AIA Santa Barbara’s Awards reflect the values and aspirations of our region’s design community while focusing on larger, even global issues. We recognize that our members work on a variety of challenges and scales. Submissions should reflect a strong sense of place, history, or purpose. We value artfully resolved design, but also celebrate the fact that architecture is much more than just beautiful buildings.

Honor, Merit and Honorable Mention awards will be given in the following specific categories:
• Commercial, Mixed Use & Multi Family
• Residential
• Interior Architecture + Design
• Historic Preservation/Renovation
• Santa Barbara Architectural Heritage
• Small Projects
• Un-built


Design Awards 2017 Links and Documents:

Design Award Guidelines
Photography Release Form
Link to EventBrite Design Awards Registration
Link to Design Awards Upload Entry Page (available until August 8, 2017)
Link to Design Awards Upload Photographer Release Page (available until August 8, 2017)