

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Tara Rizzi, AIASB Executive Director

(805) 966-4198

AIA SANTA BARBARA 2018 DESIGN AWARDS GALA

The American Institute of Architects Santa Barbara will host their annual Design Awards Gala on December 7th at the University Club, honoring the achievements of local architects and architecture. The AIA Santa Barbara Design Awards draws attention to the extraordinary legacy of outstanding architecture in Santa Barbara, the value of quality design to our community and all those who contribute to its creation. We have over 50 submissions from 18 different licensed architects in the Santa Barbara area, as well as architects outside Santa Barbara for projects within SB County. This year's Categories are: Commercial Buildings & Interiors, New Single Family Residential, Multi-Family Residential, Historic Preservation/ Renovation, Santa Barbara Architectural Heritage, Small Projects: Residential Additions & Remodels and Interior Architecture and Design: Residential Kitchens, Baths, Interiors.

This annual event is open to the any member of the public interested in participating in Santa Barbara architecture.

Lutah Maria Riggs Presidents Award

In light of the tragic events of the Thomas Fire and resulting debris flow the 2018 Lutah Maria Riggs President Award is being conveyed this year for outstanding community service. In doing so AIA Santa Barbara recognizes the community's extensive response to assist those effected by this unprecedented disaster.

The American Institute of Architects, Santa Barbara is proud to have selected Carl Palmer, whose leadership, compassion and dedication have contributed significantly to community healing and recovery in the wake of catastrophe.

The Lutah Maria Riggs award will be presented by the American Riviera Bank.

Jury

From the entries, a jury of renowned architects selected the best of architectural design in the community, which will be announced on the night of the Gala. Each entry was judged on its own merit and evaluated for its ability to achieve successful sensitivity and response to its surrounding community while including innovations in building materials and techniques.

Our distinguished awards jurors this year are: Milford Wayne Donaldson, FAIA of Sacramento, Doug Ewing FAIA of Pasadena, and Takashi Yanai, FAIA of Los Angeles.

Milford Wayne Donaldson, FAIA

Mr. Donaldson is President of award winning Architect Milford Wayne Donaldson, FAIA, Inc. since 1978, specializing in historic preservation services. He served as the California State Historic Preservation Officer from 2004-2012. Mr. Donaldson is affiliated with several historical and preservation organizations and is a past president of the California Preservation Foundation (CPF) and past chairs of the State Historical Building Safety Board, the State Historical Resources Commission, and the Historic State Capitol Commission.



Mr. Donaldson has established himself as a leader in Historic Preservation and adaptive reuse of existing structures. In 1991, The California Council of the American Institute of Architects acknowledged Mr. Donaldson for his statewide leadership in the interpretation of the California Historical Building Code that allowed the rehabilitation of historic buildings. In 1992, the American Institute of Architects inducted Mr. Donaldson into the College of Fellows.

Douglas Ewing, FAIA

Mr. Ewing the President of D.S. Ewing Architects, Inc.an Architecture and Planning firm of 12 design professionals established in 1979. He began his career as an apprentice in the nationally acclaimed office of Smith and Williams Architects in South Pasadena, CA. With a lifelong respect for the environment and love of craft, Ewing demonstrates a strong commitment to sustainable design practices in his projects. Ewing strives to understand the forces that give a sense of place, history and meaning to both progressive and modern architecture with each job he designs.

Ewing has served as Director of the AIA, AIA Awards juror, State Examiner for the California Architects Licensing Oral Exams, City Planning Commissioner, City Design Review Board member and lectured at various schools, AIA events and architectural tours of his projects. He has received numerous AIA Design Awards as well as regional, state and national awards from various other organizations. He is also a member of the National AIA Committee on Design.

Takashi Yanai, FAIA

Mr. Yanai, is a Partner and the Residential Studio Director at Ehrlich Yanai Rhee Chaney Architects where he leads the firm's efforts in the design and execution of award-winning houses. Takashi's projects have been published broadly in the national and international press. Takashi brings a keen sensitivity and interest in site and context coupled with a strong appreciation for the craft of building and materiality born of his dual Californian and Japanese heritage.

A graduate of The University of California, Berkeley and the Harvard Graduate School of Design, he is currently on the Board of Directors for the A+D Museum, Los Angeles and a visiting lecturer at the USC School of Architecture. Takashi received his AIA Fellowship in the Design category in 2017.

SBCC Student awards

For the first time, AIA Santa Barbara will be awarding a student at Santa Barbara City College, for their architectural design.

About The American Institute of Architects

Founded in 1857, the American Institute of Architects consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through nearly 300 state and local chapters, the AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards. The AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation and world. Visit <u>www.aia.org</u>.



Event sponsored by: Allen Construction, American Riviera Bank, Ann Kale Associates, Acme Architecture, CJM::LA, Taylor & Syfan, Kitchell Custom Homes, Arcadia Studio, Winick Architects,