

# American Institute of Architects – Santa Barbara Lutah Maria Riggs Award and Nomination Guidelines July 17, 2022

## **Purpose of Award**

The Lutah Maria Riggs Award recognizes an AIA Santa Barbara member, firm, or community member whose work, community service, and civic engagement have had a lasting influence on the betterment of Santa Barbara's built environment. The Nominee must have a body of outstanding architectural work or demonstrated advocacy for community architectural engagement in Santa Barbara County.

### **Award Criteria**

The Nominee must be an exemplar in the Arts, Sciences, Technology, Construction or Education of Architecture, and whose life's work has shown insight, sensitivity, and dedication to the profession of architecture to the betterment of our communities of Santa Barbara County.

#### **Nominations**

Nominations made shall consider AIASB Members or AIASB Member Firms. Nominations made in odd years may consider community members. Any current AIASB member may submit a nomination. Additionally, any community individual may submit a nomination with a sponsor who is a past president of AIASB.

### **LMR Committee**

The LMR Committee oversees and documents the Award nomination and voting process. The committee consists of the immediate past president who acts as the Committee Chair and the Executive Director. If the immediate past president is not able to serve as chair the responsibilities shall transfer to the next most immediate past president.

## **Nomination and Voting Process/Schedule**

- September 1<sup>st</sup> LMR Chair sends out call for nominations to all AIASB past presidents and to the Executive Director who announces call to all AIASB members and the community. See nominations section above for guidelines and criteria.
- October 1<sup>st</sup> All nominations must be received by LMR committee. LMR committee issues nominations to all AIASB past presidents for consideration and voting. Only AIASB past presidents are eligible to vote. Completed votes should be emailed to info@aiasb.com, Attn LMR Vote.
- November 1<sup>st</sup> Voting concludes. The nominee who receives the highest number of votes will be the recipient of the award. Should there be a tie, a second vote on only the two nominees shall commence. Only one nominee is awarded each year and the LRM Committee may decide that there is no worthy recipient. If the committee decides there is no worthy recipient they will notify the executive committee of their decision and for the committee's approval. It is not necessary to have a recipient of the award each year. The quorum for voting is a minimum of 11 votes.
- December Award recipient (if one is selected) is presented with the award during the Annual Gala.

### **Conflict of Interest**

No LMR Committee members shall self-nominate. During the voting process should the LRM committee chair be nominated they shall remove themselves from oversight of the voting process but still may cast a vote. In the event this should occur, the responsibilities of committee chair shall transfer to the next most immediate past president.